Module paths
  • ArandaAranda July 2012

Hi Dave,

I'm just starting out converting our exporter to a xJSFL module and I'm not sure whether the custom module needs to be in the xJSFL/modules folder? If they do, it seems a little messy, although I suppose I could make it a git submodule (even though they suck :)).

Also, assuming it's OK to do so, you should update your docs to remove the absolute paths from your Sample Module code here: http://www.xjsfl.com/support/guides/extensibility/modules#swf-panel.

-Aranda

• DaveDave August 2012

From the point of view that modules/ is already in a repo? I suppose you could say that, but the framework needs somewhere to stick its code.

But yes, you should put the module in here, in a subfolder.

So, I've never really used GIT submodules, but I just did a little test using TortoiseGIT "Submodule Add" and it seemed to be pretty straightforward.

The other option you have is manually loading a module from another folder / repo on your hard disk, using custom code in your user bootstrap, or an auto-loaded JSFL file that you just stick in user/jsfl/libraries/:

xjsfl.modules.find('z:/Development/Flash/xJSFL Custom Modules/', true);

Oh, and the absolute path in the Module example? That needs to be there so that at authoring time, your published SWF can access any module assets, i.e.:

setup('Exporter', 'file:///z|/Development/Flash/xJSFL/modules/Exporter/', 'file:///z|/Development/Flash/xJSFL/');

When the published SWF is finally running as a Flash panel, it will be able to access JSFL, and will automatically update these paths with the current live ones.

The reason for this is that at authoring time, there is no JSFL, so there's no way to determine the location of xJSFL, or the module, so the paths need to be hard-coded. It took a while to figure out the best way to do this, and this is the best compromise I could come up with. If you have any better ideas, I'm all ears!

Meanwhile, I've stuck a note in the code.